Laura Edgar Textiles

Our visiting speaker this month was Laura Edgar who gave a fantastic talk entitled ‘Textiles, the Fabric of My Life’.

Laura is based in Whitley Bay and takes much of her inspiration from nature, the sea and the surrounding landscapes.  We enjoyed listening to Laura telling us all about her background in textile design, how she had to get ‘a real job’ after having her family, and how she returned to art and textiles.  We were also amused by stories about Laura’s work colleagues bringing in items of clothing for recycling into beautiful seascapes, landscapes and florals.  These are some of her works of art:

Vincent Van Gogh stitched by Laura at the age of 18:

Laura Edgar 7An arched doorway:

Laura Edgar 6Landscapes and seascapes:

Laura Edgar 2 Laura Edgar 3 Laura Edgar 4 Laura Edgar 5   Laura Edgar 8A coal tit stitched on a handkerchief:

Laura Edgar 9And finally a couple of florals:

Laura Edgar 10

Laura Edgar 12

Laura also stiches cards and accessories which can be seen on her website.

Our next meeting is on June 13th when we are having a bring and buy sale, I hope you can join us.

About Julie Broad

All my life I've loved art and crafts. I could knit and crochet before I started school, and always loved art lessons. I love to learn, trying out new techniques, then moving on to the next one. Last year I started an online Machine Embroidery Course. I love the machine embroidery. One problem I faced though was taking too much time to think about and start each project. So, on 1st January 2015 I decided to deal with the issues. I started my own Photo and Stitch 365 challenge. I'm out taking photos and I'm stitching one small project every day and posting on the Internet. Life is much more hectic and much more satisfying. I hope you enjoy the blog.
This entry was posted in Visiting Speakers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment